The FoodCycle Breadline Challenge is here…

It’s so easy to just spend £2.50 on a cup of coffee or a slice of cake, without a lot of thought, especially in London. It doesn’t seem like a lot of money, but for many this is the sort of amount of money they have to spend on an entire day’s food. It has become even more imperative to talk about food poverty in this country, with increasing cuts and the amount of food, we as a society, waste when so many people can’t afford to buy it.

I am usually a meticulous planner when it comes to organising my food for the week. I had to be even more careful when it came to deciding what to cook and eat this week and how preciously I had to distribute the money across the week. Every penny was important! I decided the best way was to cook in bulk, freeze some portions for later in the week or eating in blocks of couple of days.IMG_1048

A good breakfast is going to be really important, to make sure I start my day well so I’ve decided with filling, healthy and cheap porridge. I did come across some creamed coconut for 80 p, which I hope to make into some coconut milk to enhance the porridge, along with some frozen fruit to get in some fruit into my diet this week. I am so used to having pieces of fruit to munch on during my day but the best I could go with was bananas so I think the lack of snacks will be challenging but I hope the filling meals I have planned will suffice.

After much deliberation from various sources like BBC Good Food, Jack Monroe, FoodCycle and Epicurious, I came up with the following.

  • Vegetable and black eyed bean curry with rice
  • Green lentil and vegetable pie (pastry topping with biscuit dough)
  • Chickpea and carrot burger
  • Pasta with tomato sauce
  • Porridge with frozen fruit/coconut milk/UHT milk

I would like to leave you with this video that I came across in this blog post by Elizabeth’s Kitchen Diary. In light of what we at FoodCycle are talking about this week and strive to reduce, this video by the Guardian, explains really well the uncomfortable truth about how Britain isn’t eating.

You can follow me do the challenge this week with recipes of the food I cook along with tips and thoughts on this blog. Please support FoodCycle by donating here!

Leave a Reply

