Breadline Challenge Day 2 – Chickpea and carrot patties

These were inspired by the chickpea and coriander burgers I saw on the BBC good food website, a great source for finding new recipes, and the famous Jack Monroe kidney bean and carrot burgers.

I included chickpeas instead of kidney beans, a grated carrot, and my mum suggested using some of the frozen spinach – an excellent suggestion. I spiced it up with curry powder, which I currently have in abundance. I didn’t want to buy eggs to bind my mixture, as I wasn’t planning to use eggs anywhere else during the week so I used mashed potatoes instead. It also provide my source of carbs, having decided not to eat this as an actual burger.

I served these patties with some roasted brussels sprouts and peas so all in all it was a very green dinner.

Cooked 8 medium sized patties

Prep: 15 minutes

Cook: 30 minutes

Ingredients

  • Oil, 3 tbsp (for onions and lightly frying the patties) [5 p]
  • 400 g chickpea tin, drained and rinsed [25 p]
  • 1 large potato, chopped (I left the skin on) [46 p]
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped [12 p]
  • 3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped [6 p]
  • 200 g of frozen chopped spinach [30 p]
  • 1 carrot, grated [10 p]
  • 1 tsp curry powder [3 p]
  • Salt, to taste

FullSizeRender-4

Method

  1. Chop the potato and boil until soft to cut (around 15 minutes).
  2. Meanwhile, chop and fry off the onion and garlic until softened.
  3. Add the frozen spinach and when its cooked add the curry powder. Leave aside.
  4. In a mixing bowl, roughly mash the chickpeas.
  5. When the potatoes are done, mash and add to the bowl of chickpeas along with the onion spinach mixture and season.
  6. Mix everything really well
  7. Take a bit of the mixture, roll into a ball and flatten them slightly ready for some gentle frying and do the same with the rest of the mixture
  8. Fry off the patties for a couple of minutes until golden brown on both sides and serve with a choice of your sides

FullSizeRender-2

I froze a couple, should I need it later in the week to eat as a snack. Next time, I would add some fresh herbs either coriander or parsley along with some lemon to make it a bit more refreshing. This cost me roughly £1.40, around 17 p for each patty.

Leave a Reply

